Skip to content

Keeping the lights on

Backup power comes in four sizes, and they answer four different questions. Picking the wrong size is far more expensive than picking the wrong brand within a size.

Four sizes, four questions

A UPS answers: will my computer survive a flicker?

A power station answers: can I run a fridge and charge phones for an evening?

Home storage answers: can I use this afternoon’s solar tonight?

A generator answers: can I keep going for three days?

They are not upgrades of one another. Buying a generator for a two-second flicker is as wrong as buying a UPS for a three-day outage.

1. The uninterruptible supply

The figure that matters is transfer time, in milliseconds. Everything else — capacity, output, socket count — is secondary to whether the machine downstream notices the changeover.

Runtime on a UPS is minutes, deliberately. It exists to save work and shut down cleanly, not to keep working.

2. The portable power station

Watt-hours, not watts. The output rating says what it can run; the capacity says for how long, and they are separate ceilings.

Then chemistry and cycle life, which decide whether it is still useful in five years. And charge input, which decides whether it refills over lunch or overnight.

3. Home storage

A different proposition: not backup, but time-shifting. Storing what the panels made at noon for use at seven.

Usable capacity against nominal is the figure to find, and the two can differ by a fifth. Standby draw is the second — a unit that consumes while idle is spending part of what it stored.

4. The generator

The only option that runs indefinitely, and the only one that needs feeding, servicing and somewhere safe to exhaust.

Rated output, not maximum — the first is what it sustains, the second is what it produces briefly. Sizing on the maximum is how a generator gets overloaded on day one.

5. The fuel

Which is why it is on this list.

A generator with no reserve is a generator that works until the tanks close. Eighty litres is a realistic multi-day reserve, and a UN-approved container is the meaningful distinction — it means the thing has been drop-tested and pressure-tested for the job.

Across every fuel can in this catalogue, not one addresses static charge. That is the hazard specific to filling a plastic container with petrol, and the rules for doing it safely come from the fuel retailer, not from a product page.

The picks, and why each one is here

  1. APC Back-UPS BE850G2, 850 VA, eight Schuko outlets

    850 VA · watt rating not published in the listing · topology not stated · waveform not stated · transfer time not published · runtime not published · 8 Schuko with surge protection · software not mentioned · USB-C and USB-A charging ports

    An 850 VA Back-UPS with eight Schuko outlets, surge protection and USB-C and USB-A charging ports, described in a single bullet.

    Best for: A desk with several devices, where the maker’s own datasheet will be consulted before buying.

    ≈ €110

  2. Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2, 1024 Wh, 2000 W with a 3000 W peak

    1024 Wh nominal · 2000 W continuous, 3000 W peak · 4000 cycles to 80 % · full in 49 min at 1600 W · 600 W solar at 60 V max · 10 ms UPS · 9 ports

    A 1024 Wh station rated 2000 W continuous and 3000 W peak, charged in a stated 49 minutes at 1600 W, with a 600 W solar input capped at 60 V and a 10 ms switchover.

    Best for: A household that will pair the station with panels and wants the input window published rather than guessed.

    ≈ $599 / £499 / €600

  3. Anker SOLIX Solarbank 2 Plus, expandable to 9.6 kWh

    1600 Wh base, expandable to 9.6 kWh · 2 MPPT, 1200 W solar (600 W per tracker) · 6000 cycles · IP65 · down to −20 °C · 10-year warranty

    A balcony storage unit with two MPPT trackers taking 1200 W of solar, expandable to 9.6 kWh with five further packs, rated IP65 and stated to operate down to −20 °C.

    Best for: A balcony with panels facing two different directions, where per-tracker limits matter more than total capacity.

    ≈ €399

  4. HYUNDAI HY2300Si, 2.0 kW continuous, 2.2 kW maximum, 21 kg

    2.0 kW continuous · 2.2 kW maximum · pure 230 V sine · tank not published · runtime not published · noise not published · about 21 kg · 2× 230 V 16 A, 12 V DC 5 A, USB · emissions class not published

    A 21 kg inverter generator with 2.0 kW continuous and 2.2 kW maximum output, two mains sockets, a 12 V DC outlet at 5 A and a USB port.

    Best for: A motorhome or a boat where the 12 V outlet is as useful as the mains sockets.

    ≈ €399

  5. Tayg 20 L, ADR/RID/IMDG/IATA, hazard classes 3, 6.1, 8 and 9, 200 kPa, air inlet

    20 L · ADR, RID, IMDG AND IATA/OACI, with hazard classes 3, 6.1, 8 and 9 and a hydraulic pressure of 200 kPa · material not published · STATIC BEHAVIOUR NOT PUBLISHED · a filling spout is supplied · AN AIR INLET FOR EVEN POURING · sealing not published · dangerous goods classes 3, 6.1, 8 and 9 · 345 × 234 × 377 mm, with a level gauge strip

    A twenty-litre approved fuel can with an air inlet for even pouring and a level gauge strip, conforming to ADR, RID, IMDG and IATA/OACI.

    Best for: Anyone who needs to know exactly what the can is certified to carry.

    ≈ €18

Questions this guide gets asked

What is the difference between a UPS and a power station?

Transfer time. A UPS notices the mains has gone and takes over in milliseconds, fast enough that a computer does not reboot. A power station is a battery with sockets; most will not switch over fast enough to save a running machine unless they specifically publish a transfer time.

How much fuel does a generator actually use?

More than people expect — a small machine under load can drink a litre an hour or more. Neither generator listing in this catalogue publishes a tank size or a runtime, which is why the fuel storage question comes up here rather than being answered by the generator page.

Can I run a generator indoors?

No. It produces carbon monoxide, which is odourless and kills. That is not a product question and no listing here treats it as one; where the exhaust goes is the first thing to settle, and this catalogue has a separate shelf for exhaust hose.

A price quoted in the text of a PowerVerdict page dates from the day that page was written; the live figure beside each product is fetched while you read and replaces it.

The tool we use ourselves

Decided which one? Then do not overpay for it.

Power stations and solar kits are discounted over and over through the year, and a struck-through figure on its own says nothing whatever about what the same model was charged at four weeks ago. UniverTrack holds a week-by-week record for every retailer, so a reduction is measured against a price somebody actually paid rather than one written for the sale — and it says when the moment to buy has genuinely arrived.

Real price historyBuy-now alertsAI buying assistant
Try free for 14 days →
No commitment · Cancel in one click · 5 languages