A smart alternator will not fill a second battery on its own · review
Litime 12 V 40 A, 14.6 V output, MPPT, ACC cable review
A 40 A DC-DC charger with a published 14.6 V output, an ACC cable for both smart and conventional alternators, an integrated MPPT input, and a warning that it is not waterproof.
The bottom line The best-specified DC-DC charger here for a modern vehicle: an ACC cable for both alternator types, a published output voltage and five named chemistries. Its first bullet is a warning that it must stay dry, which decides where it can be fitted.
A 40 A charger that answers the alternator question and then warns you about water.
The alternator, named
An ACC cable supplied for both smart and conventional alternators. Variable-output alternators are the reason DC-DC chargers exist on modern vehicles, and this is one of two units in this family to name the mechanism by which the charger knows the engine is running.
The output voltage
14.6 V, in the title. Six DC-DC chargers here and one publishes the voltage it delivers. For a LiFePO4 bank that is the figure that decides whether the charging profile suits the pack.
Five chemistries
LiFePO4, AGM, gel, SLA and calcium, named individually in the second bullet. That is a real compatibility statement rather than “multi-stage”.
The warning in first place
NOT waterproof. Not for boats, ships, yachts or outboards. In capitals, as the opening bullet. The ECO-WORTHY in this family publishes IP65; this one publishes the opposite, and puts it first.
The lines still left blank
An input voltage range, a fuse specification and a cable cross-section. At 40 A the last two are what connect the unit to the vehicle safely.
Availability
German, French, Italian and Spanish Amazon stores quoted about 180 € when this page was compiled.
British Amazon store carries it too, priced in its own currency, which the euro range above deliberately omits.
American Amazon catalogue carries an entry for it, with nobody selling.
These figures are what Keepa reported on the day this page was last updated. Availability and pricing move without notice.
Prices quoted in this text were read on 16 September 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
What it gets right, and what it leaves out
Strengths
The ACC cable is named for smart AND conventional alternators, which is the question modern vehicles raise
A 14.6 V output voltage is published, so the lithium charging profile can be checked
Emergency reverse charging from the auxiliary battery to a flat starter battery
Compromises
The very first bullet is a warning that it is not waterproof, which limits where it can go
No input voltage range
No fuse or cable specification for a 40 A unit
Specifications
Output current
40 A with a 14.6 V output, from the title — the only DC-DC charger here to publish its output voltage
Input range
DC input, solar, or both in hybrid mode, third bullet; no voltage range is published
Engine detection
An ACC cable is supplied for both smart and conventional alternators, second bullet — named explicitly
Profiles
LiFePO4, AGM, gel, SLA and calcium, second bullet — five chemistries named
Solar input
Integrated MPPT at a stated 99 % tracking efficiency, replacing a separate controller, third bullet
Cable
An ACC cable is included; no cross-sections are stated
Fuse requirements
Nowhere in the listing
Heat management
The first bullet warns in capitals that the unit is NOT waterproof and unsuitable for marine environments
Amazon reference
B0CCF13JS3 (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
EAN
0702571562269
Questions owners ask about this one
What is an ACC cable for?
It carries an ignition signal, so the charger knows the engine is running and only draws from the alternator then. On a vehicle with a variable-output alternator that signal is what makes the charger behave correctly, and this is one of two units here to name it.
What does reverse charging do?
It sends current from the service battery back to the starter battery when the starter is flat. The fourth bullet describes it as getting you moving again without assistance — which is a genuine feature rather than a specification.
40 A output · 12 V dual input · engine detection not described · multi-stage with charge memory · MPPT solar input at 99 % tracking · cable not specified · fuse requirements not published · IP65
A 40 A DC-DC charger with two inputs — alternator and solar — an integrated MPPT controller at 99 % tracking efficiency, and an IP65 housing.
Best for: A motorhome locker where the charger will be exposed to damp and has to handle both the alternator and a roof panel.
5, 10, 15 or 20 A selectable · 12 V to 12 V · engine detection not described · AGM, gel, flooded and LiFePO4, for 10–200 Ah banks · no solar input · cable not specified · fuse requirements not published · Bluetooth, CI-Bus and CAN-Bus
A 20 A DC-DC charger with the output current selectable at 5, 10, 15 or 20 A, Bluetooth monitoring and both CI-Bus and CAN-Bus interfaces for integration into a caravan system.
Best for: A caravan with an existing bus system, where the charger should report into it rather than stand alone.
50 A output · dual charging from alternator or solar · engine detection not described · LiFePO4 named · three-stage MPPT solar input · cable not specified · fuse requirements not published · removable side cover over the terminals
A 50 A DC-DC charger with three-stage MPPT solar charging, CE, FCC and RoHS certification, and a removable side cover that shields the terminals in transit.
Best for: A large lithium bank that has to fill quickly on a short drive.