Skip to content

The best DIN rail energy meters for 2026

A DIN rail meter counts kilowatt-hours inside a consumer unit or a sub-board, and it is what turns a balcony installation or a heat pump circuit from an assumption into a figure. The first split is how it measures: a direct-connected meter carries the full load current through itself and is limited by it, while a CT meter reads a current transformer clipped around the cable and can measure far larger circuits. The two are not interchangeable and the wiring differs. Phases come next — single-phase, or three-phase with or without a neutral — and the meter has to match the supply. Accuracy class is a published figure, and it is what separates a meter used for information from one used for billing; where money changes hands, certified types are required and the requirement is local. The communication protocol decides whether the reading leaves the cabinet: a pulse output, Modbus over RS-485, or a wireless bridge. Module width in standard units decides whether it fits the free space, and the reset behaviour — whether the total can be zeroed at all — matters more than it sounds. We compare maximum current, direct or CT measurement, phases, accuracy class, protocol, width and reset behaviour.

Every part on this shelf, side by side

  1. Miratic single-phase DIN rail energy meter with an LCD display

    Miratic Single-phase, 40 A, 18 mm wide, S0 output, IEC 62053-21

    A single-phase DIN rail energy meter rated to 40 A in an 18 mm module, with an S0 pulse output at 2000 pulses per kWh and a 6+1 digit LCD.

    Maximum current
    40 A, third bullet
    Direct or CT measurement
    Direct — the load current passes through the meter
    Phases
    Single phase, 230 V, from the title
    Accuracy class
    Measured to the international standard IEC 62053-21, third bullet; the class itself is not stated
    Protocol
    S0 pulse output at 2000 pulses per kWh, for home automation and data loggers, fourth bullet
    Width
    18 mm — one module, first bullet; the narrowest meter in this family
    Reset behaviour
    Nowhere in the listing
    Amazon reference
    B0F7RWC659 (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    5905204966112
    • One module wide, which is a real saving in a full consumer unit
    • An S0 pulse output with the pulse rate published — 2000 per kWh
    • The accuracy class is not stated, only the standard it is measured to

    Best for: Metering one solar circuit in a consumer unit with no spare width.

    ≈ €14
    Check price on Amazon
  2. Sun3drucker single-phase DIN rail kWh meter with a backlit LCD

    Sun3drucker Single-phase 5(80) A, two-pole, DIN EN 50022 and DIN 43880

    A single-phase two-pole DIN rail kWh meter rated 5(80) A with a backlit LCD, no reset function, and a reading retained through a power cut.

    Maximum current
    5(80) A, from the title — a basic current of 5 A with a maximum of 80 A
    Direct or CT measurement
    Direct
    Phases
    Single phase, two poles, from the title
    Accuracy class
    Nowhere in the listing — high precision is claimed in the fifth bullet without a class
    Protocol
    Nowhere in the listing
    Width
    17.5 mm pole width to DIN 43880, second bullet; 35 mm rail mounting to DIN EN 50022
    Reset behaviour
    No reset function at all, first bullet; the reading is retained in memory after a power cut. Working range −25 °C to 55 °C, up to 95 % relative humidity
    Amazon reference
    B083GYP8JS (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    0795787227480
    • Two dimensional standards cited — DIN EN 50022 for the rail and DIN 43880 for the module width
    • The reading survives a power cut and cannot be reset, which is what a billing sub-meter needs
    • No accuracy class

    Best for: A sub-meter whose reading has to be trusted over years rather than watched daily.

    ≈ €14
    Check price on Amazon
  3. JOYELEC three-phase DIN rail energy meter with an LCD

    JOYELEC Three-phase four-wire, 5–100 A, 3 × 230/400 V, pulse output

    A three-phase four-wire DIN rail energy meter for 3 × 230/400 V at 5 to 100 A, with a pulse counter and an LCD, in a four-module case.

    Maximum current
    5 to 100 A, from the title
    Direct or CT measurement
    Direct
    Phases
    Three phase, four wire, 3 × 230 V / 400 V, 50/60 Hz, from the title
    Accuracy class
    Described as first-level precision with a permissible error within ±1, third bullet — NO UNIT IS GIVEN, so the figure cannot be read as a percentage or a class
    Protocol
    A pulse counter, from the title; no rate is published
    Width
    4P size, fifth bullet
    Reset behaviour
    Nowhere in the listing
    Amazon reference
    B0D9JG2N3X (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    0788362821388
    • Three-phase four-wire at a price close to single-phase meters
    • Electromagnetic interference resistance and low self-consumption both named
    • The tolerance is written as ±1 with no unit, so it cannot be read

    Best for: A three-phase workshop or distribution board where the total matters more than the class.

    ≈ £27 / €20
    Check price on Amazon
  4. GAOUTO three-phase DIN rail energy meter with a transparent cover

    GAOUTO Three-phase four-wire, 100 A, CE certified, flame-retardant ABS

    A three-phase four-wire DIN rail energy meter to 100 A in flame-retardant ABS, with a transparent insulating cover and a backlit LCD.

    Maximum current
    100 A, from the title
    Direct or CT measurement
    Direct
    Phases
    Three phase, four wire, from the title
    Accuracy class
    Absent — CE certification is stated in the first bullet and high accuracy is claimed, neither of which is a class
    Protocol
    Nowhere in the listing
    Width
    Snap-fit DIN rail mounting, second bullet; no module count is given
    Reset behaviour
    Nowhere in the listing
    Amazon reference
    B0F884NPJY (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    0766156953002
    • A transparent insulating case, so the terminals can be inspected without opening anything
    • Flame-retardant ABS and high-precision chips both named in the first bullet
    • No accuracy class, and CE is a conformity marking rather than a measurement class

    Best for: A three-phase board where the meter should be visible as well as readable.

    ≈ €27
    Check price on Amazon
  5. B+G E-Tech three-phase DIN rail meter with a blue backlit display

    B+G E-Tech FLDS100-DR three-phase, 100 A, 3.9 modules, resettable day counter, S0

    A three-phase DIN rail meter to 100 A with a freely resettable day counter, a live load indicator, an S0 output and a blue backlit display.

    Maximum current
    100 A, from the title
    Direct or CT measurement
    Direct
    Phases
    Three phase, from the title
    Accuracy class
    Nowhere in the listing
    Protocol
    S0 output, from the title; no pulse rate is published
    Width
    3.9 modules, from the title — published as a module count, which only this meter and the EASTRON do
    Reset behaviour
    A freely resettable day counter alongside the running total, third bullet; a load indicator shows consumption in real time, first bullet
    Amazon reference
    B0GL81CZ9Z (same reference on 5 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    4260224172617
    • A resettable day counter as well as a total, which is what makes a meter useful for an experiment
    • A live load indicator, so the meter shows what is happening now rather than only what has happened
    • No accuracy class and no MID approval, at a price close to the two meters that have it

    Best for: Working out what a circuit actually uses, day by day, before deciding anything.

    ≈ £45 / €42
    Check price on Amazon
  6. Orno OR-WE-520 three-phase MID certified DIN rail meter in white

    Orno OR-WE-520 three-phase, 0.25–80 A, MID certified, 800 imp/kWh

    A three-phase DIN rail energy meter from 0.25 to 80 A, MID certified to EN 50470-1 and EN 50470-3, measuring active and reactive energy in both directions.

    Maximum current
    0.25 A to 80 A, from the title — the widest measuring range in this family, starting at a quarter of an amp
    Direct or CT measurement
    Direct
    Phases
    Three phase, 3 × 230 V / 400 V, 50/60 Hz, from the title
    Accuracy class
    Measurements made to EN 50470-1:2006 and EN 50470-3:2006 under MID directive 2014/32/EU, first bullet — THE ONLY LISTING In this catalogue TO CITE A DIRECTIVE BY NUMBER
    Protocol
    800 pulses per kWh, from the title, with a flashing LED showing the load in the phase, third bullet
    Width
    M119, from the title
    Reset behaviour
    Nowhere in the listing; the LCD shows only the total energy consumption, fifth bullet
    Amazon reference
    B07T83BMVW (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    5900378653011
    • MID certified with the directive and both standards cited by number and year
    • Explicitly usable to bill residents for their consumption, which is what MID is for
    • The display shows only the total; more detailed data needs a different model, which the listing names

    Best for: Sub-metering a tenancy or a shared supply where the reading has to be defensible.

    ≈ €48
    Check price on Amazon
  7. EASTRON SDM72D-MID three-phase energy meter with a backlit LCD

    EASTRON Three-phase four-wire, 100 A, MID certified, 4-module case

    A MID certified three-phase four-wire DIN rail energy meter to 100 A with a backlit LCD in a four-module case, for sub-metering individual circuits.

    Maximum current
    100 A, from the title
    Direct or CT measurement
    Direct
    Phases
    Three phase, four wire, first bullet
    Accuracy class
    MID certified and calibrated, from the title; the class itself is not stated
    Protocol
    Nowhere in the listing
    Width
    A four-module DIN rail case, second bullet
    Reset behaviour
    Nowhere in the listing; real-time watt readings are displayed alongside the total, fifth bullet
    Amazon reference
    B08XDFK2W2 (same reference on 5 Amazon marketplaces)
    EAN
    0669818824460
    • MID certified, so the reading can support a bill
    • Explicitly sold for sub-metering a single circuit, which is the honest use
    • No protocol or pulse output, unlike the Orno at a similar price

    Best for: Putting a defensible number on one circuit in a three-phase board.

    ≈ £52 / €50
    Check price on Amazon

A price quoted in the text of a PowerVerdict page dates from the day that page was written; the live figure beside each product is fetched while you read and replaces it.