One inverter per panel, and one shaded panel stops costing the others · review
Hoymiles HMS-800W-2T, 800 W, two MPPT, with a 5 m lead review
An 800 W Hoymiles micro-inverter for two modules with an integrated WiFi data unit, 6000 V surge protection, an IP67 NEMA 6 housing and stated VDE conformity.
The bottom line The best-documented micro-inverter in this family: a named standards body, built-in monitoring, a published surge rating and a proper enclosure classification. It still omits the input window, which every unit here omits.
An 800 W Hoymiles inverter sold with a 5 m connector cable.
The line that separates it
VDE conform, in the title. No other micro-inverter in this family names a standards body anywhere. A device that injects into a household circuit has to disconnect correctly when the mains misbehaves, and that behaviour is what a grid standard defines.
The integration
The data transfer unit is inside. Hoymiles equipment has historically needed a separate DTU to reach the cloud, and buying one, powering it and siting it within range was a real cost. Here it is one box.
The protection figure
6000 V surge protection, published. Nothing else in this family publishes a surge figure at all, and on a device mounted outdoors under a panel it is a meaningful line.
The enclosure
IP67, described also as NEMA 6 — the same protection expressed in two conventions, which is useful when comparing against equipment specified either way.
The lines still left blank
The input voltage window and the maximum input current. Six of the seven here omit them; the APsystems unit is the exception.
The naming
The brand field and the title do not agree. Keepa records VALE, whose other listings here are balcony solar kits; the title and every bullet say Hoymiles, and the hardware is a Hoymiles HMS-800W-2T. This page follows the manufacturer, because that is what arrives in the box.
Availability
German Amazon store quoted about 120 € when this page was compiled.
American, British, French, Italian and Spanish Amazon catalogues carry an entry for it, with nobody selling.
These figures are what Keepa reported on the day this page was last updated. Availability and pricing move without notice.
Prices quoted in this text were read on 16 September 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.
What it gets right, and what it leaves out
Strengths
VDE conformity is named, which is the closest thing in this family to a published grid standard
The data transfer unit is built in, so no separate gateway has to be bought
A surge protection voltage is published, which nothing else here gives
Compromises
No input voltage window, despite everything else being specific
No warranty stated
The listing is the reseller’s; the maker’s own listing of the same unit is thinner still
Specifications
Rated output
800 W, from the title
Inputs
Up to two PV modules, from the title; per-input limits are not published
Limits
6000 V surge protection, second bullet; no input voltage window or current limit is published
MPPT channels
Two integrated trackers at a stated maximum MPPT efficiency of 99.8 %, third bullet
Certified grid standards
VDE conform, from the title — the only micro-inverter here to name a standards body in its title
Monitoring
Integrated DTU for remote management over WiFi, fourth bullet; no separate gateway is needed
Ingress rating
IP67, described as NEMA 6, second bullet
Warranty
Nowhere in the listing
Amazon reference
B0CM3WD7DL (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
EAN
4262361722847
Questions owners ask about this one
What does an integrated DTU save?
A separate data transfer unit and its power supply. Hoymiles inverters historically needed one to report to the cloud; this model carries it inside, which removes a purchase, a mounting point and a point of failure.
Is VDE conformity the same as a grid code certificate?
It names the body whose standards apply in Germany, which is more than any other listing here offers. Whether the specific certificate covers your country’s grid code is a question for the maker’s declaration, and this page does not extend the claim.
800 W · 2 independent MPPT at 400 W each · limits not published · 2 MPPT · VDE and EMC certified · app monitoring · IP67 · warranty not stated
An 800 W grid-tied micro-inverter with two 400 W MPPT channels, VDE and EMC certification, lightning protection and an 800 V supercapacitor, at a stated 96 % conversion efficiency.
Best for: A two-panel installation where each panel is around 400 W and the per-channel limit is the deciding figure.
800 W maximum output · 2 input channels · 16–60 V operating, 60 V maximum, 2 × 20 A maximum input · 2 independent MPPT · VDE certified with an integrated relay · WiFi and Bluetooth · ingress rating not published · warranty not stated
An 800 W APsystems micro-inverter and the only one in this family to publish its input window: 28 to 45 V at the maximum power point, 16 to 60 V operating, 60 V maximum.
Best for: Anyone who wants to check their panels against the inverter before buying either.
800 W · 2 MPPT inputs · limits not published · MPPT efficiency 99.8 %, peak 96.5 % · grid standard not named · monitoring not described · IP67 · MC4 plug and play
An 800 W micro-inverter with two independent MPPT channels quoted at 99.8 % tracking efficiency and 96.5 % peak conversion, with MC4 connectors and IP67 protection.
Best for: A straightforward two-panel balcony where monitoring is not wanted and MC4 is what the panels have.